Khalid, Victoria Monét and SG Lewis share sultry new disco song ‘Experience’
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:12/04/2021
  • Post last modified:12/04/2021

News Music News

Khalid, Victoria Monét and SG Lewis share sultry new disco song ‘Experience’

It’s taken from Monét’s upcoming ‘Jaguar’ record

By Eddy Lim

Khalid and Victoria Monet announce new collaboration
Khalid and Victoria Monet. Credit: Supplied

Khalid, Victoria Monét and SG Lewis have released a new collaborative single called ‘Experience’.

  • Read more: Victoria Monét interview – how ‘Ass Like That’ is finally putting the ‘Thank U, Next’ co-writer in the spotlight

The track was announced on June 16 in a statement from Monét and Khalid, in which they explained why they were sticking with their release plan as protests and action in support of Black Lives Matter and racial justice continue around the world.

“We’ve always used music as a form of escapism from troubling things,” they wrote. “This song, though deep in subject matter, sonically simply feels joyful and celebratory. It’s important to us to highlight and celebrate Black joy and love in the middle of so much pain and trauma.”


‘Experience’ is set to feature on Monét’s upcoming release ‘Jaguar’, which will be available from July 31. “I’m hoping that experience can get you to change,” she sings on its chorus. Listen to it below now.

In the rest of the earlier statement, the singer highlighted the importance of June, which represents both Black Music Month and Pride Month. The singer indicated her “queer identity is another important celebration for me”, even throughout the global pandemic.

Monét and Khalid added they hoped the track would bring “some solace and joy to you”. “We hope the double-ended message of this song is heard: based on experience, we want change!” they wrote. “We matter, we always have. Here’s to making changes and celebrating US the best ways we know how. Genuine love to you and yours.”

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by 🌙 Victoria Monét (@victoriamonet) on

The track follows two recent singles from Monét – ‘Moment’ and ‘Dive’. Last year, she released the collaborative track ‘Monopoly’ with Ariana Grande, for whom she has written for since 2013.

Speaking about her relationship with Grande last year, Monét told NME: “We’ve just been friends for so long. It’s so easy and it just feels really fun, but also therapeutic. It’s not like when you go to a writing session and you have to ask the writer or the artist: “What’s going on with your life?” We talk all the time, and we both already know what’s going on in each other’s lives. So whenever we’re in the studio, we get straight to the music part.”

  • Related Topics
  • Khalid
  • R&B
  • SG Lewis
  • Victoria Monet

Leave a Reply